All aboard the hell-bus

I went to church yesterday. I’m surprised I didn’t burst into flames when I walked through the door, but there you go.

I like going to church. There’s something comforting about it, I think because it reminds me of my childhood. It also makes me feel intellectually superior, sitting in my atheist tower watching the superstitious rituals of the noble savages.

Apparently being atheist could mean I actually am smarter, rather than just feeling smarter: clicky yon. I learned this from Dawkins in the God Delusion, but he rather naughtily doesn’t mention that this study (I think there is a Danish one too) was self-published and non-peer-reviewed, so make of it what you will.

The service yesterday was long – nearly two hours – because Jonty’s family are evangelist-flavoured so there’s a lot of singing. I got a bit bored, although one of the kids in the band looked something between Daniel Radcliffe and Elijah Wood, so I entertained myself for the last half hour contemplating the ways one might initiate a young and pious boy into a life beyond the lord.

Blasphemy makes me horny as hell.

2 Comments»

  bigfalamike wrote @

God so loved the World He gavehis only Son Jesus that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have everlasting life John 3:16

think about what jesus did for you He is in love with you You need to give your life to Him You need a Savior

  elle wrote @

Interestingly, I was musing on this in church yesterday.

First up, I wouldn’t really use ‘need’ in that context, but then I’m a biologist. I *need* certain metabolites – water is a good one, oxygen, a few amino acids. But even then I can choose to forgo them, I just wouldn’t be around very long.

I have certainly never felt the need to surrender my soul to a higher power, especially one I’ve neither seen nor conversed with.

I’m also uncomfortable with the idea that relinquishing yourself like that absolves you from responsibility for your actions. I think that would make life feel too distant for me.

I don’t want to feel as if I am living my life with a degree of separation. I want immediacy and urgency – that’s not something I can imagine being able to find were I secretly waiting to die.


Leave a Reply

