Went to the doctor and she gave me eight minutes to live. I’d been sitting in the waiting room half an hour…

Went to see a shrink last Thursday and it was… weird.

I was really nervous all morning, and had such a dry throat/sweaty palm problem when I arrived that I could barely manage to talk. But talk I did, and once I got going it just spewed out for the first half hour or so.

Then the guy stopped me, asked if it was fair to identify a feeling of being trapped as my main issue, and could he try something called Thought Field Therapy (wiki / pro / con)?

He didn’t explain much about it, just said it would involve me tapping various parts of my body. “Ok,” says I. “No harm in that.”

*tap*
*tap*
*tap, tap, tap*
(Sometimes the best fun looks like boredom.)

He asked me beforehand to give a value to my trapped feeling. I scanned back over the past few weeks and chose 7. After all the tapping was done he asked me for the new value. As nothing to make me feel trapped had happened in those five minutes I didn’t really understand the question.

“Um, wouldn’t I have to go back into a situation that makes me feel trapped to assess that?”

“Ha! There you go, your brain has quarantined the bad feeling. The patient usually experiences a more dramatic change, but I’m sure you’ll feel better from now on.”

I glance at the clock. 15 minutes to go.

He glances at the clock.

“So, uh, anything else you wanted to talk to me about?”

I try again.

“Well, as I said at the beginning, I think feeling trapped is more of a symptom of…”

“Do you want me to print out the tappping sequence for you?”

Sigh.

“Uh, ok.”

I went away feeling kinda cheated. It took quite a lot for me to call the guy, make an appointment, actually turn up, and once I started talking it felt really good, but now I don’t much faith in him.

I don’t think he’s a bad shrink or anything (he certainly helped a friend of mine) – quite a few things he said/asked got me thinking, and if he’d wanted to screw me out of money he’d have kept me talking once a week for the next 18 months instead of sending me away with a frankly ridiculous miracle cure.

I can believe tapping therapy works on lots of people (Derren Brown effect?), but it just wasn’t what I was looking for. I don’t want to be given a pair of ruby slippers, I want someone to help me draw a map.

4 Comments»

  Grill wrote @

Sounds like an absolute load of bollocks. I’d like to teach that supercilious wanker a new treatment called “impact therapy”.

  elle wrote @

Lol! I’m a bit scared of hitting shrinks though. I always assume it must be easy for them to get people sectioned.

  elle wrote @

Although I think there’s a good case for this guy not counting as a real shrink.

  Turning and turning « Cheese sammiches and sex wrote @

[…] August 28, 2008 at 2:53 pm · Filed under Psyche stuff So, shrink #02 doesn’t seem to be crazy, which is an improvement over the last guy. […]


Leave a Reply

