Macarons!

It occurred to me at the weekend that I never write about cooking. I’m not sure if this is because of or despite spending most of the rest of my life thinking about food.

Anyway, here’s what I know about macarons – they should be chewy, have a ruffly foot of bubbles round the base and a smooth top.

Before cooking

Before cooking

After making ten batches of the bloody things at the weekend, I can confirm that the ruffly foot is not too hard to achieve, but the smooth top is more hit or miss.

Also, the traditional French method of making them (I assume it was such, as it was really fiddly and didn’t work) sux, treat them like tiny Pavlova bases (add salt, whisk in some of the sugar) and you’ll fair much better.

Finished product

Finished product

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

